Skip to product information
1 of 1

Winchester Discounts

1993 Classic Books

1993 Classic Books

Regular price $5.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $5.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

U.S. #2785-88
1993 Classic Books

The 1993 Classic Books stamp set commemorates beloved children's books that have become enduring literary classics in the United States. Here's a breakdown of the stamps:

  • Stamp Category: Commemorative
  • Set: Classic Books
  • Value: 29¢, First Class Mail Rate
  • First Day of Issue: October 23, 1993
  • First Day City: Louisville, Kentucky
  • Quantity Issued: 150,200,000
  • Printed by: American Bank Note Company
  • Printing Method: Offset, Intaglio
  • Format: Panes of 40 (vertical 8 across, 5 down)
  • Perforations: 11 x 11.1 (Bickel reciprocating stroke perforator)
  • Tagging: Prephosphored paper and block tagging applied over Little Women and Rebecca of Sunnybrook Farm stamps

Why the stamps were issued: The stamps were issued to honor four popular children’s books that have become literary classics in the United States.

About the stamp designs: The Classic Books stamps were created using artwork by Jim Lamb of Issaquah, Washington, with input from art director Richard Sheaff. The designs depicted scenes inspired by the essence of each classic book rather than specific scenes from the novels. The artwork aimed to capture the feel of the books through vibrant illustrations.

Selvage design details: The selvage of the panes provided additional information about each book honored by the stamps, including the authors and the years of publication.

First Day City: The stamps were issued in Louisville, Kentucky, during the annual conference of Literacy Volunteers of America, Inc.

Public Opinion Leads to Design Changes: Feedback from the public led to adjustments in the original artwork for some stamps. Changes included altering the appearance of characters to better represent the essence of the books and ensuring historical accuracy in the depiction of scenes.

History the stamps represent: Each stamp represents a classic children's book and its author:

  • "Rebecca of Sunnybrook Farm" by Kate Douglas Wiggin, published in 1903.
  • "Little House on the Prairie" by Laura Ingalls Wilder, published in 1932.
  • "Adventures of Huckleberry Finn" by Mark Twain (Samuel L. Clemens), published in 1885.
  • "Little Women" by Louisa May Alcott, published in 1868-1869.

These stamps pay tribute to timeless literary works that have left a lasting impact on readers of all ages.

he story of the March family.

View full details